Thursday, December 29, 2011

How To Clean A Flat Screen Monitor?

1.) Turn off the monitor. If the screen is dark, it will be easier to see the areas that are dirty or oily. 

2.) Use a dry, soft cloth and very gently wipe the screen. A great choice would be the microfiber type of cloth used to clean eyeglasses. See Tip #1 below for kinds of cloths to avoid.

3.) If the dry cloth did not completely remove the dirt or oil, do not press harder in an attempt to scrub it off. Pushing directly on the LCD screen can often cause pixels to burn out.

4.) If necessary, dampen the cloth with distilled water or with an equal ratio of distilled water to white vinegar. See Tip #2 below for products to avoid.

Many companies also sell small spray bottles of special cleaner for flat screen monitors but the vinegar mixture is usually just as effective.

5.) The plastic edge that surrounds the screen can be cleaned with any multipurpose cleaner but take care to avoid contact with the screen itself.

Tips:

1.) Avoid using paper towels, toilet paper, tissue paper, or something like your shirt to wipe the LCD screen. These non-ultrasoft materials can easily scratch the screen.

2.) Avoid cleaning products that contain ammonia, ethyl alcohol, acetone, toluene, ethyl acid, or methyl chloride. These chemicals can react with the materials that the LCD screen is made of which could yellow the screen or cause other kinds of damage.

3.) Never spray liquid directly on the LCD screen or it could run inside the monitor and cause damage. 

How do I delete a contact(s) from LinkedIn?

Log in to your LinkedIn account, then click on Connections within the "My Contacts" area. On the right side you'll see: Add Connections / Remove Connections

Click on "Remove Connections" and you'll be taken to an area of LinkedIn that looks curiously similar to an old-fashioned Rolodex:

Simply check the name or names you want to remove - they'll show up immediately on the right side - then click the big "Remove Connections" button.

You'll then be asked to confirm the action and reminded that it's irreversible:

Ready to proceed? Just click "confirm". If you've changed your mind, go ahead and select "cancel" and your action will be cancelled.